FUSION FASHION SHOW 2015

PARSONS THE NEW SCHOOL FOR DESIGN VS. THE FASHION INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

APPLICATION REVIEW

Leave a comment

So, the information meetings were so much fun and a big success. Parsons had over 100 people attend and F.I.T. had its biggest turnout ever with over 130 people!

Each year, I always think I’m going to go to these meetings and see 2 very different types of student. Surely, Parsons and F.I.T. are different in so many ways, but in doing this show for so long, I have realized that designers have a common thread, and it isn’t just the love of fashion. Both students are hungry and passionate. Both want to make it in this cut throat industry. Both see beauty in a special way that will continue to change clothes, Vogue, fashion, standards, and fabric forever. More than anything, both want a taste, if not more, of this dream they’ve had for as long as they can remember. I love that. I love fashion school kids. I love providing what could be considered by some as the first step on a very high ladder with Fusion.

This year I’m very excited to see the talent submitted. I will be spending more time on each application than I have in years past. Before, I might skim a paragraph and do few double takes at collections that were seemingly uninspired. This year, I understand the common thread a bit more and realize there is no such thing as uninspired, for everyone wants a taste of their dream, and every dream is different. So, good luck with your applications and may Fusion be one of many steps that lead you to your own definition of success.

– Jimmy

Author: Michelle Christina

Designer, writer, Brooklyn baby.

Leave a Reply

