FUSION FASHION SHOW 2015

PARSONS THE NEW SCHOOL FOR DESIGN VS. THE FASHION INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

OUR TASTE IS STILL GOOD!

Leave a comment

A little over month to go. This is when I start getting excited about the upcoming talent we are about to see blossom right before our very eyes. If I’m this excited already, I can imagine how the designers are feeling. I remember back in Fusion’s first years when I still lived in Loeb Hall, a residence hall at Parsons. It’s all I could talk about with the designers and Fusion consumed us all day every single day. Seriously, it ate up every second of each day and it tasted good.

Right now, Annie and Richard, our Fusion coordinators, are checking in with the designers to make sure everyone is on track and things are looking (and tasting) good.

Ticket sale dates have been set and let me give those of you who take the time to read this blog, which I’m guessing isn’t many, a tip. Fusion sells out and usually very fast. Last year, I was walking on F.I.T.’s campus to begin selling tickets. I was going to meet one of our designers in front of the building and as I walked up I saw a line wrapped around the room and creep out the building. I walked up to the designer and asked what people were waiting in line for? Was a band coming to play? Were the elevators in the lobby broke? She laughed and said “Jimmy, it’s for Fusion.” Never had we received a response like that and I was pleasantly floored. F.I.T. came out in such force and with heavy support and, trust me, I will be better prepared for it this year. Anyway, we sold out of Fusion in 2 days and I suspect it will be even faster this year. I have already received requests for 150 tickets.

This year, I’m excited to say that a local fashion high school is bringing some of their students to see the show. I’m thrilled. Fusion is about young talent and giving designers a taste of something that in all reality they may never taste again. Don’t get me wrong, I want each and every one of them to go on to be the next Donna Karan, but the odds aren’t in our favor. But, maybe we can prove them wrong.

As I write this, I’m starting to get the butterflies of yester-years. I hope you, too, let Fusion consume you. Go ahead, let it eat you up. After all these years, our taste is still good, maybe better.

– Jimmy

Author: Michelle Christina

Designer, writer, Brooklyn baby.

Leave a Reply

