FUSION FASHION SHOW 2015

PARSONS THE NEW SCHOOL FOR DESIGN VS. THE FASHION INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

BIG UPDATE

Leave a comment

It’s been awhile. So much has happened since the last time I posted a blog. First, the model casting was great. We had so many people show up and I couldn’t be more grateful. So many beautiful people to support our show, it was just so fantastic to see. We had some familiar faces in the bunch. The gorgeous Aleksandra is back along with some other one or two year veterans, however, no one defines that category more than Yana, who was in Fusion’s second show eight years ago. She still looks perfect and I appreciate the time and effort all of our models put into this production. They sell it. They work it. We love it.

The designers are a great group this year. They seem much more like a big team than ever before. Group emails are sent about sewing circles, model questions, and support. Zaida, a F.I.T. designer, is full of life and is reaching out to everyone as are our Fusion veteran designers, Kelly Frappier and Ted Allegrini. I have fun when I’m with them and, more importantly, I’m INSPIRED. I know how drained they all must be, but they keep going. Some things people wrote for their website bios were so inspiring. When asked what they were most excited about with Fusion, Julie Baik simply put “growth.” I love that. That is what this experience is all about…evolving philosophies, improved technical skills, internal debates, and honed self awareness.

I am also inspired by how excited they are about the show. I’m fairly removed from the everyday life of a Fusion designer. During the first 3 years of Fusion, I lived in the residence halls, Loeb Hall to be exact, and I witnessed firsthand the all nighters, the craftsmanship, and the lure Fusion had on all of us. I was part of the endless conversations about the show and heard people I didn’t know talking about it seemingly everywhere. I miss that. I miss being in the mix. However, to my surprise, I know it still is happening 5 years later. I look at designer profiles on Facebook and Myspace and read on electronic walls the growing anticipation they have. It makes me smile every time.

With the help of one of our designers, we also have our first judge, Atoosa Rubenstein. We couldn’t be more thrilled. She is an incredible role model and fashionista. We are in the works on getting others.

Tickets will be going on sale soon (get them early) and the show is creeping up on us so fast. My excitement will continue to grow and all Fusioner’s workloads will increase. I may not be there in person in the halls or at the schools to witness this firsthand, but all I’ll need to do is sign on to my computer and read. Keep sewing designers. Keep your spirits up. Keep blogging. It helps more than you know.

– Jimmy

Author: Michelle Christina

Designer, writer, Brooklyn baby.

Leave a Reply

